${site.data.firmName}${SEMFirmNameAlt} Access To Law …The Key to Justice
New Clients: 770-729-4753 Existing Clients: 770-685-1499

Norcross Immigration Law Blog

U.S. immigration law: DACA in jeopardy

For many people in other countries, living in the United States is a dream that they can only hope to attain. Even though some people were able to reach that goal for themselves and their children, many of those people in Georgia and across the country are seeing the legal status of those who immigrated to the country as young children put in jeopardy. A top government official claims that he expects an impending change in U.S. immigration law which could affect millions of people.

The Homeland Security Secretary, John Kelly, recently met with members of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus. In that meeting, Kelly recently issued a warning that the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program may be coming to an end, claiming that it is likely to be ruled as legally unsustainable. DACA was put in place in 2012 and protects people who were illegally brought into the country as children from deportation and allows them to work. The program recently received additional scrutiny after politicians from 10 states requested that President Trump end the program.

How to get a visa for a parent

United States citizens living in Georgia or Alabama whose parents want to move into the country need to petition to get a green card for them. A green card holder is able to legally work and live in the country permanently. There are a number of steps to the process, and the one applying for the visa needs to meet certain eligibility requirements.

According to the U.S. Department of State, the child of the parent must be 21 years or older and needs to be a current citizen of the States. A green card cannot be issued to parents of a child who is only a green card holder, and the person petitioning for the visa must consider the United States his or her permanent residence.

Avoid notarios when seeking legal advice

It can be difficult for immigrants to know where they can turn to for legal advice. The challenge of finding good legal help is made harder by imperfect translations between Spanish and English legal terms.

One point of confusion is the role that "notario públicos" serve. The literal translation of a "notario público" is a "notary public." 

What is citizenship status discrimination?

People from diverse backgrounds encounter discrimination in the workplace for all sorts of reasons. In some cases, employees are discriminated against based upon their race or spiritual beliefs, while others may be targeted due to their gender. However, some people are discriminated against because of their citizenship status or their immigration status, which is against the law. Regrettably, this type of discrimination occurs too often and some victims do not know their rights or are intimidated and stay silent.

According to the United States Department of Justice, it is illegal for protected employees to experience citizenship status discrimination, or to be discriminated against as a result of their immigration status. A number of people are covered, including temporary residents, asylees, permanent residents, citizens and refugees. Moreover, accusations of citizenship status discrimination are investigated by the Immigration and Employee Rights Section.

Travel ban goes into effect tonight, only close family exempt

In its last act before summer recess, the U.S. Supreme Court reversed two lower courts' injunctions against President Trump's travel ban.

The Fourth and Ninth Circuit courts of appeal had not actually ruled on whether the travel ban was legal. Instead, they had ruled that it should not be put in force while the legal arguments were being made, and issued injunctions to keep any aspect of the ban from going into effect. The Supreme Court found those injunctions to be too broad. It put most of the ban into effect against those without a substantial relationship to the U.S. and will consider its full legality during its next term.

Email Us For a Response

Contact us for help

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Access To Law Foundation
2415 Beaver Ruin Road
Suite B
Norcross, GA 30071

Toll Free: 800-401-7274
Phone: 770-729-4753
Phone: 770-713-2686
Phone: 770-685-1499
Fax: 888-308-1931
Norcross Law Office Map

Back To Top